Follow Us:

Some seats affected by independents

Web Archive |

New Delhi, 13 December
More than 225 Independent candidates contested the 70 Assembly seats in Delhi in the recently concluded elections, but only one of them, Rambir Shokeen, registered a win. Shokeen, Independent candidate from Mundka, beat the BJP’s Azad Singh by a margin of 7,134 votes.
 However, the results of more than eight constituencies were affected by the votes that Independent candidates got.
 In Delhi Cantonment, where the losing margin was only 355 votes, Independent candidates got 499 votes. The same thing happened in Kalkaji, where Aam Aadmi Party’s Dharambir Singh lost to the BJP’s Harmeet Singh by 2044 votes. The Independent candidates bagged 3461 votes in this seat.
In Karwal Nagar, the competition was between BJP’s Mohan Singh Bisht and AAP’s Kapil Mishra. The BJP won this seat by 3083 votes. A single Independent candidate from this constituency, Satan Pal Dayma, polled 19,362 votes. The  total votes bagged by Independents in the seat was 20,007.
 In Mustafabad the contest was between Hasan Ahmed of Congress and Jagdish Pradhan of BJP and the former won by just 1896 votes  Independents got 1974 votes in Mustafabad.
Sadar Bazar constituency, where AAP won by only 796 votes, had seven Independent candidates contesting. Together they polled 6893 votes.
In Sangam Vihar, the sitting BJP MLA, Shiv Charan Lal Gupta, lost to AAP’s Dinesh Mohaniya by 777 votes. Independents shared 2728 votes in this constituency.
In the Trinagar seat, the BJP’s Nand Kishore Garg defeated AAP’s Jitender Singh Tomar by 2809 votes. Here the Independents got 3076 votes.     
In Vikaspuri, AAP emerged winner, defeating the BJP by 405 votes. Independents bagged 2303 votes.
 Not only did the Independents affect the results of some constituencies, they also fared better than national and regional parties such as BSP, SP, NCP and JD(U) in seats like RK Puram, Sadar Bazar, Laxmi Nagar and Rajouri Garden.