Boy band One Direction has released their first single after the ouster of Zayn Malik.

Titled Drag Me Down, the track is the first after Malik exited the band in March and will feature as the lead single for the band’s fifth studio album.

Band members, Niall Horan, Liam Payne, Harry Styles and Louis Tomlinson broke the news on their official Twitter account.

"Bit of a surprise! Check out our new single! It’s called Drag Me Down and I hope you love it as much as we do," Liam Payne tweeted.

"Hopefully you love it, we’re proud of it," Louis Tomlinson tweeted soon after the song was released.