Follow Us:

Manipur cabinet decides formation of 7 new districts

PTI | Imphal |

Manipur government, led by Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh, has decided to form 7 more new districts, bifurcating the existing 9 districts of the state, a state cabinet secretariat source said on Friday.
The decision for formation of seven new districts was taken in a state cabinet meeting chaired by the Chief Minister on Thursday evening at the CM’s secretariat, the source said.
“Manipur will now have 16 districts and the decision for formation of 7 new districts was taken for administrative convenience and to enable the state government take up development works effectively even in the remote and underdeveloped parts of the state,” the chief minister told over phone on Friday morning.
The newly formed districts are Kangpokpi, Tengnoupal, Pherzawl, Noney, Kamjong, Jiribam and Kakching, the cabinet secretariat source said.
Posting of the new Deputy Commissioners and Superintendents of Police for the newly formed districts were also effected in the government order issued on Thursday, the source said.
Manipur earlier had 9 districts – Imphal West, Imphal East, Bishnupur, Thoubal, Ukhrul, Senapati, Tamenglong, Churachandpur and Chandel.
The chief minister explained that inauguration of the new districts would be taken up as soon as possible before the announcement of state assembly elections by the Election Commission of India.
The move came in the backdrop of the United Naga Council (UNC) launching economic blockade in Manipur for more than one month since November one last in protest against the formation of Sadar Hills (Kangpokpi) and Jiribam districts.