Follow Us:

Rajya Sabha elections: Trinamool wins four seats, Congress one in Bengal

IANS | Kolkata |

The Trinamool Congress bagged four seats and the Congress one in the Rajya Sabha polls from West Bengal on Friday.

All four Trinamool candidates — sitting Rajya Sabha member Nadimul Haque and first time nominees Subhasish Chakraborty, Abir Biswas and Santanu Sen — emerged victorious in the vote count.

Congress leader Abhishek Manu Singhvi, supported by the Trinamool, also won.

The CPI-M’s Rabin Deb, backed by the Left Front, lost.

According to election officials, Trinamool’s Chakraborty secured the highest number of 54 votes. Haque and Biswas got 52 votes each and Sen 51. Singhvi garnered 47 votes.

Deb managed to get 30 votes.

The votes of two Trinamool lawmakers – Jakir Hossain and Mrigendra Nath Maiti – were rejected.