statesman news service
CHENNAI, 16 JUNE: The CPI today decided to field its sitting MP Mr D Raja for the 27 June biennial election to the six Rajya Sabha seats from Tamil Nadu. 
Mr Raja will file his nomination papers tomorrow, before the deadline for submitting candidature ends, CPI All India General Secretary Sudhakar Reddy told at a Press conference in Chennai.
When asked, Mr Reddy said: “Politically we were never with the DMK.” He further said as the AIADMK is contesting all five seats, they have expressed their inability to give extra votes. “The CPI and the CPI-M are together and we are confident that we may mobilise votes that are necessary,” he added.
Mr Reddy said the CPI hopes that those parties who are not contesting the election and those who have surplus votes would support the CPI.
The CPI held its state executive committee meeting here yesterday, where they officially decided the name of their candidate.