Follow Us:

BJP sweeps UP civic polls, Congress loses Amethi

SNS | New Delhi |

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday won 14 out of 16 mayoral seats in the Uttar Pradesh civic body elections. Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) won two seats, while Samajwadi Party and Congress could not open their accounts.

Counting of votes began at 8 am on Friday. The civic body polls were held in three phases in November.

Congress candidate in Amethi lost out to BJP’s candidate Chandrama Devi, who won the Amethi Nagar Panchayat by 1035 votes. Congress Vice-President Rahul Gandhi’s Lok Sabha constituency, and has long been a bastion of the Gandhi family.

ALSO READ: BJP loses in Uttar Pradesh CM’s Gorakhpur backyard

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Twitter saying that, “It is a victory of development” and thanked “Uttar Pradesh for the victory”.

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath credited the victory to BJP workers who “worked to communicate the party agenda of development to all”. He took a dig at Congress, saying a party which was dreaming to win in Gujarat has floundered in Uttar Pradesh.

In his first comments after the BJP surged ahead to a decisive victory in the civic polls, Adityanath said the results showed that the people had faith in the party and the policies pursued by the central and the state governments.

The BJP won 14 mayoral seats, while the BSP won two. BJP won in Varanasi, Gorakhpur, Ghaziabad, Bareilly, Agra, Firozabad, Ayodhya, Mathura, Lucknow, Kanpur, Saharanpur Jhansi and Bareilly, and Moradabad. The BSP won in Aligarh and Meerut.

BJP’s Sanyukta Bhatia will be Lucknow’s first woman Mayor. She will succeed Dinesh Sharma, who served for two terms before his elevation as Deputy Chief Minister in March after the Bharatiya Janata Party victory in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections.

Of the 198 Nagar Palika Parishad chairman posts, the BJP won 47 seats, the Bahujan Samaj party (BSP) 18, the Samajwadi Party (SP) 29 and the Congress five.

Of the 5,261 Nagar Palika member seats, BJP won 624, BSP 178, SP 328 and the Congress 98. Of the 5,434 Nagar Panchayat member seats, the BJP has won 575 seats, SP 384, BSP 189 and the Congress 106. Of the 1,300 corporation seats across the state, the BJP won 535, the BSP 145, the SP 171 and the Congress 86.

In the polls for the 438 Nagara Panchayat chairman, the ruling BJP won 81 seats, the SP 67, the BSP 34 and the Congress 15.

The independents won 199 corporate seats, 27 Nagar Palika chairman seats, 2,533 Nagar Palika member seats, 144 Nagar Panchayat chairman seats and 3,291 Nagar Panchayat member seats.