New Delhi, 22 September
Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) today announced to field two municipal councilors, who were formerly associated with BJP and Congress, as its candidates for the upcoming assembly elections from Vikas Puri and Uttam Nagar assembly seats.
   AAP will field Mahinder Yadav, presently a councilor in the South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC), as its candidate from Vikas Puri.
Yadav was associated with BJP for over a decade and was also general secretary of the party’s OBC Cell. Yadav had quit BJP in 2012 to contest the municipal elections as an independent candidate. He actively participated in Anna Hazare’s agitation.
Similarly, Deshraj Raghav, an independent councilor in SDMC, will be the AAP candidate for the Uttam Nagar seat. Raghav had a long association with Congress and even held the post of general secretary of the party’s Najafgarh district chapter.
He left the party last year and won in the municipal polls as an independent candidate.
AAP has announced a total of 56 candidates, including sportsman-turned-actor Praveen Kumar, who is well-known for playing the role of Bheem in the serial ‘Mahabharat’.
Meanwhile, in a bid to ensure greater participation by people in the electoral process, AAP has also got into the process of preparing its poll manifesto.
The party has decided to prepare separate manifestos for the 70 Assembly seats which would be based on local issues and problems.