Batting legends Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara among other former cricketers will return to play a cricket tournament called the Road Safety World Series in India next year to promote road safety. Notably, the World Series will be an annual affair and will be played in the Twenty20 involving retired cricketing stars from five different countries- Australia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and India.

The legendary duo will be joined by other greats of the game like India’s Virender Sehwag, Australian Brett Lee, Sri Lankan Tillakaratne Dilshan and South Africa’s Jonty Rhodes. The tournament is scheduled to be played from 2 February- 16 February across various venues in India.

Sachin Tendulkar, now 46, is the world’s leading run-getter in Tests and One Day Internationals, accumulating more than 34,000 runs with the help of 100 International hundreds. His international career lasted for 24 years and ended in 2013.

It was in 2008 that Tendulkar had surpassed Brian Lara’s record (11, 953 runs) for most runs in Test match cricket with the West Indies. Lara retired from International cricket in 2007. It is the elegant left-handed batsman Brian Lara who holds the record for the highest individual Test score. His unbeaten 400 came against England in Antigua in 2004.

This is the second grand tournament in which former greats of the game have come together and played the game after Cricket All-Stars which took place in the United States in 2015.