The Board of Cricket for Control in India (BCCI) on Wednesday announced India’s 18-member Test squad for the first three matches of the five-match Test series against England. The opening match will start on 1 August, star Indian spinner Kuldeep Yadav has been recalled to the Indian side.

Chinaman spinner Kuldeep Yadav, who had played his last test match during India’s tour of Sri Lanka in August 2017, made his comeback in Indian squad after his stellar campaign in the limited overs game. KKR wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik and Delhi’s Rishabh Pant have also been included in Indian side as Wriddhiman Saha was ruled out due to injury.

Star Indian pacer Jasprit Bumrah, who was ruled out from limited overs series against England, has been included in the Test squad. Jasprit Bumrah will be available for selection from the 2nd Test onwards based on his fitness.

Meanwhile, BCCI also said in a press release that a call on Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s inclusion in the Test squad “will be made as soon as he is assessed by the BCCI Medical Team”.


India’s squad for first three Tests against England: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, M Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Karun Nair, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur.