Follow Us:

RLD expels 2 MPs for mingling with SP

Statesman News Service |

press trust of india
New Delhi, 30 July 
The RLD led by Union minister Ajit Singh today expelled two MPs Mr Devender Nagpal and Ms Sarika Baghel from the party for hobnobbing with the Samajwadi Party.
It has also sought their disqualification in a petition to Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar.
Ms Baghel is a Lok Sabha member from Hathras while Mr Nagpal represents Amroha, both in western Uttar Pradesh, the home turf of the RLD chief and civil aviation minister.
Disciplinary action against the two MPs was on the cards in the wake of reports that Ms Baghel had been declared SP candidate from the Agra Lok Sabha constituency while Mr Nagpal had joined the SP and was in the queue for the ticket. Mr Nagpal, who had been denied the Lok Sabha ticket by the RLD, had said he was no more active in the party and would rather join the Samajwadi Party. He had also accused the RLD leadership of being “highly corrupt”.  Uttar Pradesh is witnessing a trend of party hopping among MPs who have been denied ticket for Lok Sabha elections by their parent parties.
The RLD has five members in the Lok Sabha, including Mr Singh elected from Baghpat and his son Mr Jayant Chaudhary from Mathura.