West Bengal’s ruling Trinamool Congress trade union wing leader Dola Sen was elected unopposed on Friday to the Rajya Sabha in a by-election to the sole vacant seat from the state.

Sen, the only candidate in fray, was declared elected by the returning officer Buddheswar Mohanti as the deadline for withdrawal of nomination came to an end.

The election was necessitated by the resignation of Trinamool MP Srinjay Bose after his bail in the multi crore rupee Saradha chit fund scandal.

The Trinamool now has 12 Rajya Sabha members.