Trinamul Congress on Sunday suspended four of its members, including senior party leader Anupam Datta, who had filed his nomination as an Independant candidate from Ward no 41 a few days ago for the upcoming Bidhannagar municipal election, scheduled to be held on 3 October.

The other names include Manash Dutta, Samir Hajra and Debraj Chakravorty. These four members have been suspended for involvement in anti-party activities.

Jyotipriya Mallick, TMC president of North 24 -Parganas,organised a press conference today at Salt Lake to announce that the party has decided to suspend these four members.

The party appears to be intent on giving out a strong signal before the upcoming election that no stray actions without the consent of the party superiors would be allowed.

Supporters of Dutta were unhappy over the fact that though some unpopular faces have found their place in the TMC candidate list, his name has not been included.

His supporters have been especially miffed after Jaydeb Naskar&’s name was included in the list.

Naskar is allegedly linked to the syndicate menace in Rajarhat.

“I have decided to contest the election as my people wanted me to. I felt responsible for the people who voted for me earlier. It is they who convinced me to contest,” Datta, told to The Statesman.

Taking a dig at Mallick, he said, “I wish Mr Jyotipriya Mallick gets back some of his sense.”

On being asked what the reason might have been for evicting him from the candidate list, Dutta said, “If they induct men like Tapash Chatterjee from the enemy camp, how would senior TMC men get tickets for running in the election.”

Meanwhile, the CPI-M is gearing up to face the ruling party with continuous campaigning before the election.

Asim Dasgupta, mayoral candidate of the party along with Sujan Chakravorty, member of state secretariat, campaigned for their candidate from ward no 28, Raghunath Pramanik.