statesman news service
SILIGURI, 18 JUNE: The Siliguri District Carrom (29’) Association, in collaboration with the Carrom (29’) Association of Bengal will organise the 13th East Zone Carrom (29’) Championships 2013, under the auspices of the All-India Carrom (29’) Federation at the Kanchenjungha Stadium hall from 20 to 22 June, 2013.
Mr Atanu Choudhury, secretary, SDCA, said a total of 96 selected carrom players from Bengal, Bihar, Orissa, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Uttar Pradesh will take part in the six categories of the meet.  “Twelve senior players from each state will take part in the men&’s and women&’s singles as well as team championships, while four junior boys and girls will participate in the junior boy&’s and junior girl&’s single&’s competition,” he said.
The SDCA secretary said three players from Siliguri have been selected to represent Bengal at the tournament.
He said Subho Das and Avijit Mandal will represent Bengal in the junior boy&’s category while Durjoy Ghosh and Sushmita Sengupta will take part in the men&’s singles and junior girl&’s championships.
The meet will be inaugurated by the North Bengal development minister Mr Gautam Deb, the Matigara-Naxlabari MLA Mr Shankar Malakar, the mayor of Siliguri Ms Gangotri Dutta and the chief adviser of the championship committee, former state urban development minister Mr Asok Bhattacharya.