Statesman News Service
Kolkata, 7 February
Ahead of the first Cabinet meeting at the newly-inaugurated north Bengal secretariat ~ Uttar Kanya ~ scheduled for Tuesday, the state government today came up with a list of 12 employees to run the Chief Minister’s Office (CMO).
Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will hold the first Cabinet meeting at Uttar Kanya on 11 November. An administrative meeting will also be held to review projects. Miss Banerjee will leave for Nagrakata to attend another programme on 12 February where the Akhil Bharatiya Adivasi Vikas Parishad will felicitate her.
A list of 11 employees from the Common Cadre Wing and a WBCS-ranked official was prepared by the Personnel and Administrative Reforms Department today. Appointments in the CMO will be made in posts of lower division clerk, upper division clerk and section officer.
The employees who are being transferred to Uttar Kanya hail from north Bengal districts. The WBCS-ranked official, who is at present in Jalpaiguri, has been entrusted to look over the state of affairs at Uttar Kanya’s CMO.
None of the other departments that are to be housed in the mini-secretariat has initiated the appointment process till now.
The 18 departments at Uttar Kanya include Agriculture, Animal Resources Development, Backward Classes Welfare, Cooperation, Commerce and Industry, Finance, Hill Affairs, Health and Family Welfare, Housing, Labour, Municipal Affairs, Minority Affairs and Madrasah Education, Micro and Small Scale Enterprises and Textiles, Public Works Department, School Education, Transport, Women and Social Welfare and the North Bengal Development Department.
The process to create another post of additional chief secretary (ACS) who will be posted at Uttar Kanya, as announced by the chief minister earlier, is yet to begin.
Sources at state secretariat Nabanna said permission has to be sought from the Centre for creating another ACS post. Among the 10 IAS officers presently holding the ACS rank, one of them may be posted at Uttar Kanya and is likely to hold dual charge of another department.