Virat Kohli-led Team India will aim to start the four-match Test series against Australia on a winning note when they face each other on Thursday for the series opener. The opening match of the Border–Gavaskar Trophy 2018 will be played at the Adelaide Oval.

India are firm favourites to win the upcoming Test series, primarily due to the absence of Australia’s star duo Steve Smith and David Warner. If Virat Kohli’s boys manage to win the upcoming series, they would become the first ever Indian side to achieve this feat as no Indian side have ever won a Test series against Australia on their home turf.

This is also Virat Kohli’s last chance to win an overseas Test series in the ongoing calendar year. They have already lost to South Africa and England.

So far, India have played 11 Test series in Australia. They lost nine of them and manage to draw two — one under Sunil Gavaskar in 1980-81 and the other in 2003-04 with Sourav Ganguly at the helm.

Ahead of India vs Australia 1st Test, here is everything you want to know:

Date: December 6, 2018 (Thursday).

Venue: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Time: 05:30 am (IST).

Live Broadcast: Sony Pictures Network.

Live Streaming: Sonyliv.


Australia squad:  Aaron Finch, Marcus Harris, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Tim Paine (captain), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon.

India’s 12 member squad: Virat Kohli (C), A Rahane (VC), KL Rahul, M Vijay, C Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Hanuma Vihari, R Pant (WK), R Ashwin, M Shami, I Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah