Biplab Kumar Deb will on Friday take oath as the new Chief Minister of Tripura at a special ceremony that will be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with BJP President Amit Shah and senior party leaders.

The formation of a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led government in Tripura will also be witnessed by a host of Central ministers and Chief Ministers of several BJP ruled states.

According to reports, BJP ally in the state, the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) has demanded four ministerial berths.

Meanwhile, discussions have been held between Assam minister and Tripura election-in-charge Himanta Biswa Sarma and the state leaders to select the ministers, assembly Speaker, Deputy Speaker and other important functionaries.

Sarma, who is the convenor of the BJP-led anti-Congress alliance, North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) had on Wednesday held a meeting with the IPFT as well.

Chief Minister-designate Deb announced on Tuesday that the party’s tribal leader Jishnu Debbarma will be Deputy Chief Minister.

Tripura’s royal family scion Jishnu Debbarma is the BJP nominee for Charilam assembly constituency (reserved for tribals), where election was countermanded following the death of the Communist Party of India-Marxist candidate and it would be held on Monday.

The BJP and the IPFT swept the February 18 polls, winning 43 of the 59 seats.

The BJP secured 35 seats in the 60-member Assembly and the IPFT, a tribal-based party, eight. The CPI-M got 16 seats while the Left Front partners — Communist Party of India, Forward Bloc and Revolutionary Socialist Party — besides once main opposition Congress drew blank.

A non-Left government would assume office on Friday for the first time in a quarter of a century.

Meanwhile, all the outgoing ministers, including Chief Minister Manik Sarkar, are leaving their official residences and checking into MLA hostel, party offices and rented houses.