Follow Us:

6 railway stations in Bengal to be upgraded to global standard

The six stations are Adra, Asansol, Howrah, Sealdah, Darjeeling, Alipurduar.

Statesman News Service | Asansol |

The Indian Railways is planning to renovate six railway stations in West Bengal as world class transit hubs. These six railway stations are Adra, Asansol, Howrah, Sealdah, Darjeeling, Alipurduar.

All the concerned zonal railways will prepare Detail Project Report (DPR) and have been entrusted to complete the job.

Mr Prabhat Kumar Mishra, Divisional Railway Manager of Asansol, said that the renovation work of Asansol railway station has already been undertaken.

The development plan as envisaged by the Railway Board includes escalators, Wifi zone, CCTV cameras, water ATMS, lifts, stainless steel benches on platforms, LED lighting, waiting hall, waiting rooms, bio toilets, wash rooms, refreshment rooms, modular catering kiosks etc.

Also, the Railway Board has decided to transform one railway station under each zonal railways which will be totally operated by women staff including lady RPF constables and officials, ticket checkers, station manager’s etc.

A selfie zone will also be set up at Asansol railway station. An Art Gallery has already been inaugurated at Asansol Station.

The Burnpur Railway Station under Adra Division of South Eastern Railway is tagged to be converted to all women railway station, according to DRM of Adra Division.