The Indian cricket team led by Virat Kohli reached the United Kingdom on Wednesday ahead of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 that commences on 30 May.

Virat Kohli was part of the Indian squad that won the World Cup in 2011 under MS Dhoni, and was also an integral part of India’s 2015 campaign. This is the first World Cup that he will be playing at the captain, and the skipper has said it is going to be personally the “most challenging one” for him.

Team India will play their opening match in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 on June 5, against South Africa at Southampton. They will play nine round-robin league matches at six venues — two each at Southampton, Birmingham and Manchester, and one each at Oval, Nottingham and Leeds.

India were earlier scheduled to kickstart their campaign on June 2 but the match was postponed on the Lodha Committee recommendations that mandated a 15-day gap between IPL and an international tournament.

According to the World Cup 2019 schedule announced by the ICC, the tournament final will be played on July 14 at the iconic Lord’s ground in London.


5 June – South Africa v India (Hampshire Bowl, Southampton)

9 June – India v Australia (The Oval, London)

13 June – India v New Zealand (Trent Bridge, Nottingham)

16 June – India v Pakistan (Old Trafford, Manchester)

22 June – India v Afghanistan (Hampshire Bowl, Southampton)

27 June – West Indies v India (Old Trafford, Manchester)

30 June – England v India (Edgbaston, Birmingham)

2 July – Bangladesh v India (Edgbaston, Birmingham)

6 July – Sri Lanka v India (Headingley, Leeds)