8 films from Bengal to feature in IFFI Panorama section

  • PTI

    November 24, 2015 | 11:31 AM
Eight films from Bengal to feature in IFFI Panorama section

Eight films from Bengal have made it to the Indian Panorama section of the 46th International Film Festival of India in Goa this year.

Among the eight movies, "Anwar Ka Ajab Kissa" directed by Buddhadev Dasgupta is the only film in Hindi, others are in Bengali language.

Buddhadev, when contacted, said, "This (eight films selected) augurs well for the cinema in Bengal." 

The acclaimed director, who is now in Bangladesh for the outdoor shooting of 'Tope', said he wants to attend the IFFI. The festival concludes on November 30.

Late director Bappaditya Bandyopadhyay's "Sohra Bridge", which captures the beautiful landscape of the Northeast, is another interesting selection starring Niharika Singh among others.

Bappaditya had died on November 7 after a massive cardiac arrest. Before his untimely death, the promising director had got the news of the selection of "Sohra Bridge" for the Panorama section and he was keen to go to Goa.

'Cinemawala' by director Kaushik Ganguly, not yet released commercially, is another interesting entry in the Panorama section starring Parambrata Chatterjee and danceuse-activist Alakananda Roy.

Kaushik, an IFFI regular, whose previous films had bagged honours on the same platform, said, "The Goa festival has always been special for me as a director." 

The other five films which made the cut are: director Satarupa Sanyal's "Onyo Opalaa", Srijit Mukherjee's much-hyped 'Rajkahini', Debesh Chattopadhyay's "Natoker Moto", 'Pakaram' by Sankar Debnath and 'Kadambari' by Suman Ghosh.

A total 26 feature and 21 non-Feature films will be screened in the Indian Panorama section while 187 films from 89 countries will be showcased in the International Section between November 20 and November 30.

A total 26 feature and 21 non-Feature films will be screened.


Do you think the Indian society is not receptive towards victims of depression?

Thank you for voting!