South Dinajpur

TMC meet seen as groundwork for South Dinajpur civic polls

In the last Assembly elections, BJP candidate Dr Ashok Lahiri secured a lead of almost 10,000 votes in the municipality area. The tenure of the elected board in the civic body expired in October 2018, while administrators have been handling matters there ever since.

South Dinajpur Zilla Parishad committees finally get members

After the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, 10 ZP members, including the Sabhadhipati, had joined the BJP with Mr Mitra. The then TMC district president Arpita Ghosh had expelled the 10 from the party, while nine of the posts of the sthayee samitis had become vacant then.

South Dinajpur revs up work to link ration card with Aadhar

According to sources at the district food control office, 75 per cent of the uploading work was completed, but only 45 per cent was verified by the central agency, while it has rejected the others for mismatch of information like spelling mistakes, date of birth etc.

B’ghat residents rue crater-filled roads

“A group of officials are hand in glove with such encroachers and they are encouraging the local people to occupy government land. The administrative board has remained silent on this. As the drains are occupied, there is no outlet for the water, which now flows on the roads. No one is ready to take the responsibility of the maintenance of the roads,” said one resident of Ward 22, Ranjit Das.