Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan and teammate Nurul Hasan have been handed one demerit point and fined 25 per cent of their match fees for breaching Level 1 of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Code of Conduct.

According to the ICC release, both Shakib and Nurul were pleaded guilty and accepted the decision of ICC match referee Chris Broad.

The charges against the duo were levelled by on-field umpires Raveendra Wimalasiri and Ruchira Palliyaguruge, third umpire Ranmore Martinesz and fourth umpire Lyndon Hannibal.

“Friday’s incidents were disappointing as you don’t want to see such player behaviour during any level of cricket. I understand that it was a tense and an edge-of-the-seat match with place in the final on the line, but the actions of the two players were unacceptable and cannot be condoned as they clearly went overboard. Had the fourth umpire not stopped Shakib and the fielders remonstrating, and then the on-field umpires not intervened between Nurul and Thisara, things could have become worse,” match referee Chris Broad said.

“Shakib was found to have breached Article 2.1.1 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to “conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game”, while Nurul was found guilty of violating Article 2.1.2, which deals with “conduct that brings the game into disrepute”.”

“The incident involving Shakib happened in 19.2 over of the Bangladesh innings when he came to the edge of the boundary and gestured at his batsmen to come out off the field while remonstrating against an umpiring decision. As regards Nurul, the reserve player argued and pointed finger at Sri Lanka captain Thisara Perera, which led to unruly public behaviour after he was sent by the team on to the field of play to pass on a message to the two batsmen,” the ICC release further said.

In the high voltage match between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh on Friday, Shakib’s squad won the match by two wickets and by doing so confirmed their spot in the finale of Nidahas Trophy 2018.

On Friday, during the last overs of the second innings of the match when Bangladesh needed 12 runs to beat the Islanders, Shakib al Hasan called off his players from the ground after they thought that the on-field umpire had given a wrong decision.

Lankan bowler Isuru Udana had started the over with two short-deliveries, in which Mustafizur was sent back to the pavilion on the second ball.

Thereafter, the Bangladesh squad thought that the square leg umpire had given the second bowl a no-ball, which the umpire didn’t give.

Talking about the incident, Shakib said at the post-match conference that, “The square leg umpire had signalled it a no-ball and then upon discussions, changed the call, which I don’t think is the right decision.”

He added, “I don’t know if the first bouncer was called as one for the over but when the second bouncer was bowled, the umpire did call it a no ball.”