Follow Us:

INDW vs ENGW, 1st T20I: Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj score 50s, India 198 for 4

Pooja Vastraker scored 22 runs off 10 balls with the strike rate of 220.


Smriti Mandhans’s sensational half-century helped India score 198 runs for 4 wickets in their allotted 20 overs in the third T20I match of the Paytm Twenty20 International (T20I) cricket tri-series that is being played at Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai, on Sunday.

After getting thrashed by Australian women team in the opening match of the series by six wickets, Indian cricket team led by Harmanpreet Kaur is aiming to bounce back in the tournament.

Earlier after winning the toss Heather Knight invited Women-in-Blue to bat first and propelled by Smriti Mandhana’s 76 runs knock, which included 12 boundaries and two sixes, they managed to set a respected target of 198 runs to win in front of England team.

Elegant opener Mandhana along with India’s ODI skipper Mithali Raj gave India a brisk start and shared 129 runs partnership for the second wickets.

However, England bowler Farrant broke their partnership by sending Mandhana back. After the dismissals of Smriti, Mithali took the charge of Indian innings and scored 53 runs off 43 deliveries.

Indian T20I skipper Harmanpreet Kaur scored 30 runs off 01 deliveries that included three boundaries and one maximum before getting bowled out by Tash Farrant.

Meanwhile, Pooja Vastraker scored 22 runs off 10 balls with the strike rate of 220. During her innings, Pooja scored four boundaries.

From England, Tash Farrant took two wickets each. Sophie Ecclestone and Natalie Sciver took one wicket each.

Fall of wickets:

129-1 (Smriti Mandhana, 12.5), 141-2 (Mithali Raj, 14.5), 153-3 (Veda Krishnamurthy, 16.5), 179-4 (Harmanpreet Kaur, 18.5)


England Women (Playing XI): Danielle Wyatt, Bryony Smith, Tammy Beaumont, Natalie Sciver, Heather Knight (c), Alice Davidson Richards, Amy Ellen Jones (wk), Jenny Gunn, Tash Farrant, Sophie Ecclestone, Katie George

India Women (Playing XI): Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Anuja Patil, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Pooja Vastrakar, Jhulan Goswami, Poonam Yadav