Follow Us:

IPL 2017: Coulter-Nile, Woakes, De Grandhomme claim 3 wickets each as KKR thrash RCB

Kolkata Knight Riders thrash Royal Challengers Bangalore by 82 runs in an IPL 2017 match.

PTI | Kolkata |

In a stunning collapse, Royal Challengers Bangalore were all out for 49, the lowest score in the history of IPL as Kolkata Knight Riders spanked them by 82 runs at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday.

The hosts had put up a modest total on the board as they were all out for 131 with RCB leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal taking three wickets.

However, the hosts defended the total despite facing one of the biggest hitters in the game in the rival camp.

Australian paceman Nathan Coulter-Nile ripped apart the Bangalore top-order by dismissing skipper Virat Kohli (0), AB de Villiers (8) and Kedar Jadhav (9).

Pacemen Chris Woakes (3/6) and Colin de Grandhomme (3/4) also took three wickets each to bowl out RCB for 49 in just 9.4 overs.

Opting to bowl, RCB skipper Virat Kohli was in for a shock as KKR's new opener Sunil Narine hammered Samuel Badree for 18 runs in the opening over, hitting three fours and a six.

The next over, Gambhir had some tough time against Mills before using the Englishman's pace to guide the ball over third-man boundary.

It was raining boundaries and sixes as KKR raced to 39 in three overs before Mills finally gave the breakthrough dismissing KKR skipper for 14 when the ball kissed Gambhir's bottom-hand thumb and went to the wicketkeeper.

Narine though lived up to his new-found opening role pushing them to 65/2 in Powerplay but what unfolded next was a batting harakiri and the sellout Eden crowd switched loyalty Kohli and Co and kept chanting 'RCB, RCB'.

Narine slammed six boundaries and one six before holing out at deep square leg off Stuart Binny in the last over of Power Play.

Kohli introduced his ace spinner Chahal in the eighth over as the Haryana leggie bowled his quota at one go and rattled KKR who managed just 20 runs from 10 to 15 overs.

An alert Chahal quickly altered his line seeing Yusuf Pathan (8) stepping out for his first wicket and had him stumped while in the 12th over he struck twice to remove Manish Pandey (15) and Colin de Grandhomme (0).

The home team lost five wickets for 28 runs with Chahal making the difference in his 4-0-16-3 spell while Pawan Negi (2/15) and Tymal Mills (2/31) added to their misery.

Left-arm spinner Negi took wickets of Nathan Coulter-Nile (2) and Suryakumar Yadav (15) in successive balls in the 18th over while Sreenath Aravind cleaned up Kuldeep Yadav (4) to bowl KKR out in 19.3 overs.

This is for the first time KKR were bowled out by RCB who would be sniffing the second win in a row, as it's a big ask for Gautam Gambhir to defend the modest total.

Having been smashed by Narine in his first over, Badree returned to trap Uthappa LBW in his second spell, a twin blow for KKR in four balls with the addition of one run.