The Bihar government has entered into an agreement with the National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) to work together on performance improvement of the state’s power sector.

A memorandum of understanding (MoU) was signed between the Government of Bihar, the Bihar State Power Holding Co. Ltd. (BSPHCL), the Bihar State Power Generation Co. Ltd (BSPGCL), the North Bihar Power Distribution Company Ltd. (NBPDCL), the South Bihar Power Distribution Company Ltd. (SBPDCL), the Bihar State Power Transmission Company Limited (BSPTCL) and the NTPC Limited at Patna on Tuesday.

The MoU was signed in the presence of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. RK Singh, Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Power and New & Renewable Energy, Bihar Energy Minister Bijendra Prasad Yadav, Principal Secretary, Energy, Pratyaya Amrit, CMD, NTPC, Gurdeep Singh, Director (Commercial), NTPC, Anand Kumar Gupta, Managing Director, BSPGCL, and R Lakshmanan, among other dignitaries, were also present.

According to the MoU, the Barauni Thermal Power Station (720 MW) and the Bihar State Power Generation Company will transfer their equity in Kanti Bijlee Utpadan Nigam Limited (KBUN) and Nabinagar Power Generating Company (Pvt.) Limited (NPGC) to the NTPC.

NTPC is the largest power generating company of India with a total installed capacity of 53,651 MW (including JVs) from coal, gas, hydro, solar and wind power projects.