Follow Us:

Jai Ram Thakur will ‘work tirelessly’ to serve Himachal: PM Modi

SNS | New Delhi |

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday expressed confidence that Jai Ram Thakur, who took oath as the 14th Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh will work tirelessly to serve the people of the state.

In a series of tweets, Modi said: “Congratulations to Shri Jairam Thakur and all those who took oath today.”

“I am confident this team will work tirelessly and serve the people of Himachal Pradesh with exceptional diligence,” he added.

Modi also shared a photo of the massive crowd that had gathered at the historic ‘Ridge Maidan’ in Shimla to witness the ceremony.

“The swearing in ceremony of the Council of Ministers of Himachal Pradesh took place in the midst of great fervor,” he captioned the photo.

Thousands of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) workers had thronged the historic ground and the chants of ‘Bharat Mata Ki Jai’ reverberated in the air soon after Thakur took his oath.

He also thanked the people of Shimla for the “warm welcome”.

“I thank the people of Shimla for the warm welcome,” he tweeted.

Five-time legislator Thakur became the new CM of Himachal in the presence of Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah, Union Ministers Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari as well as chief ministers of BJP ruled states including Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath.

The BJP wrested power in Himachal from the Congress, winning close to a two thirds majority with 44 seats in the 68-member Assembly. The Congress won 21 seats, independents two and the Communist Party of India-Marxist one.

Thakur emerged as a front runner after Dhumal and state party chief Satpal Satti were defeated in the November 9 elections. The poll results were declared on December 18.