Congress president Rahul Gandhi on Friday thanked the people of Wayanad from where he was elected with a record number of votes to the 17th Lok Sabha.

In a tweet posted in Malayalam, Gandhi also congratulated all the winners of the Lok Sabha elections.

“I honour the people’s decision. Congrats on all the winners. Thanks to all the people of Wayanad who have chosen me as your representative. I thank every Congress worker for their hard work and efforts,” he wrote.


Gandhi contested from two seats in the Lok Sabha elections but won only one. The Congress chief suffered a humiliating defeat at the hands of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and Union Minister Smriti Irani in his Gandhi bastion of Amethi by a margin of 55120 votes.

While Gandhi got 413394 of all votes polled, Irani got 468514 votes to enter Lok Sabha for the first time. Irani had previously contested against Gandhi from Amethi in 2014 and lost.

But in Wayanad, Gandhi secured a record 706367 votes, or 64.67 per cent of all votes polled in the constituency. CPI’s PP Suneer came a distant second with 274597 votes.

The Congress lost miserably in the Lok Sabha elections this time winning only 52 seats, three less than what is required to be eligible to elect a Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha.

The BJP won 303 seats in the election, with the NDA bagging in 351.