It was a proud moment for Odisha on Wednesday when Biju Janata Dal (BJD) MP Bhartruhari Mahatab was honoured with the Outstanding Parliamentarian Award for 2017.

The Lok Sabha MP from Cuttack received the award from President Ram Nath Kovind at Central Hall of the Parliament House in the presence of the Vice President, Prime Minister and Lok Sabha Speaker.

The citation referred to his experience, debating skills, the depth with which issues. President Ram Nath Kovind said the Award, being conferred on Wednesday, also represents an important opportunity to honour the contribution of senior and impressive parliamentarians.

He congratulated all those being conferred with the Outstanding Parliamentarian Award – Ms Najma Heptulla, Mr Hukmdev Narayan Yadav, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Dinesh Trivedi and Bhartruhari Mahtab.

We all heard their commendations being read out. We also had the opportunity to listen to their views. As parliamentarians, each of them has added value to the proceedings of the House said the President.