In a recent development, star Indian all-rounder Harmanpreet Kaur has been officially announced the captain of the 15 member India squad at the forthcoming ICC Women’s World T20. Batswoman Richa Ghosh is the only new face in the team.

Richa has sealed her spot in the team after a few healthy contributions in the women’s Challenger Trophy. She even scored an eye-pleasing 36 off 26 balls in one of the games with four boundaries and a six.

Notably, the Women in Blue are scheduled to start their Women’s World T20 campaign against hosts Australia in Sydney on 21 February.

Teenage sensation Shafali Verma has been rewarded with a place in the Indian team after some consistent performances in the domestic circuit.

India find themselves in Group A along with other teams Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh while Group B consists of England, South Africa, the West Indies, Pakistan and Thailand.

India Women’s World T20 squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodriguez, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Veda Krishnamurthy, Richa Ghosh, Tania Bhatia, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy.