England cricket team will aim to hit back as they take on an upbeat Team India led by Virat Kohli on Friday (6th July) for the second match of the three-match T20I series. Team India will be keen to register their second consecutive win when they face England at the Sophia Gardens, Cardiff.

The Men-in-Blue completely outclassed England in the first game as Kuldeep Yadav’s fifer followed by Lokesh Rahul’s unbeaten ton guided India to a comfortable victory at the Old Trafford.

Virat Kohli will be expecting another dominant show from his side to set the tone for the long England tour ahead.

On Friday, the Indian team management is likely to stick to the same playing eleven, not trying to disturb the winning combination.

In the batting department, opener Shikhar Dhawan, who failed in the first match, would like to rectify his mistakes while pacers punished in the first 10 overs in the last match would like to display some disciplined bowling in the opening overs.

On the other hand, the hosts will be desperate to bounce back in the series and once again rely on opener Jos Buttler, who continued his purple patch of form with another fifty in the opening match.

In order to put up a fight against the visitors, Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Alex Hales and  Eoin Morgan will also have to quickly learn to read the spinners.

While England spinner Adil Rashid did a fair job in the first outing, Moeen Ali was expensive and will have to be economical against the spin-friendly Indian batsmen.

The English camp will also miss the services of pacer Tom Curran, who has been ruled out of the remaining T20Is and the ODI series owing to a left side strain.

A loss on Friday will see England drop down to rank seven below New Zealand, South Africa and West Indies, respectively.

Ahead of the second T20I, here is everything you need to know:

Date: The match will be played on Friday (6 July).

Venue: Sophia Gardens, Cardiff.

Time: The match will begin at 10:00 PM (IST).

Live Broadcast: Sony Six.


India squad:: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Hardik Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, Umesh Yadav

England Squad: Jos Buttler (wk), Eoin Morgan (c), Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Sam Curran, Dawid Malan, Jake Ball

-With IANS inputs.