Fernando Santos has named his preliminary 35-man squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup on Tuesday, with Bayern Munich Star Renato Sanchez the notable omission.

Former Real Madrid fullback Fabio Coentrao had astonishingly ruled himself out of the World Cup already and hence, does not feature as well.

The European champions will be captained by superstar Cristiano Ronaldo at the quadrennial extravaganza which kicks off in a month’s time in Russia.

The 35-man squad will be trimmed to the final 23 later this week on Thursday, May 17.

DON’T MISS | Tite names Brazil’s 23-man squad

The World Cup runs from June 14 to July 15.

MUST READ | Premier League Team of the 2017-18 Season

Portugal, who have been drawn in Group B along with European powerhouse Spain, Iran and Morocco, play their first game on June 15 when they take on their neighbours at the Fisht Stadium in Sochi.

While they are not considered favourites, any team that possess the superlative talents of Ronaldo has to be taken seriously.

Young guns Andre Silva, Bernardo Silva will strive to prove the Iberians are not a one-man team while the older heads of Joao Moutinho, Nani and Ricardo Quarasema will provide vital experience.


Anthony Lopes (Lyon), Beto (Goztepe) and Rui Patricio (Sporting Lisbon).


Antunes (Getafe), Bruno Alves (Rangers), Cedric Soares (Southampton), Joao Cancelo (Inter Milan), Jose Fonte (Dalian Yifang), Luis Neto (Fenerbahçe), Mario Rui (Napoli), Nélson Semedo (Barcelona), Pepe (Besiktas), Raphael Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund), Ricardo Pereira (FC Porto), Rolando (Marselha) and Ruben Dias (Benfica).


Adrien Silva (Leicester City), Andre Gomes (Barcelona), Bruno Fernandes (Sporting Lisbon), Joao Mario (West Ham United), Joao Moutinho (Monaco), Manuel Fernandes (Lokomotiv Moscow), Reben Neves (Wolverhampton Rovers), Sergio Oliveira (FC Porto) and William Carvalho (Sporting Lisbon).


Andre Silva (AC Milan), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Eder (Lokomotiv Moscow), Gelson Martins (Sporting Lisbon), Goncalo Guedes (Valencia), Nani (SS Lazio), Paulinho (SC Braga), Ricardo Quaresma (Besiktas) and Ronny Lopes (AS Monaco).