IPL 2017: Gautam Gambhir leads Kolkata Knight Riders to win at Eden Gardens

Kolkata registered a thumping 8-wicket victory in their first home match of IPL 2017.

IPL 2017: Gautam Gambhir leads Kolkata Knight Riders to win at Eden Gardens

KKR captain Gautam Gambhir (Photo: AFP)

Captain Gautam Gambhir scored an inspiring knock of 72 runs (not out) to lead Kolkata Knight Riders to a remarkable eight-wicket win over Kings XI Punjab in their first home match of the IPL 2017 on Thursday.

Gambhir hit 11 boundaries in his 49-ball knock to delight the crowd at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Chasing a competitive target of 171 runs, Kolkata started strongly at home.


All-rounder Sunil Narine came to open KKR innings along with Gambhir. The opening pair established a 76-run partnership stand to built a strong foundation.

Narine contributed with 37 runs off 18 balls, besides the wicket of Marcus Stoinis (9) that he claimed earlier in KXIP innings.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Robin Uthappa and Manish Pandey strengthened KKR's middle-order and scored a causative 26 and 25 runs (not out) respectively.

For KXIP, who suffered their first defeat in the ongoing season, spinner Axar Patel and Varun Aaron were the only successful bowlers amid session highly-dominating by KKR.

Along with Gambhir, Indian star speedster Umesh Yadav gets a big share of Kolkata's thumping victory as he claimed four wickets to help KKR dominate KXIP at home.

In the end of 20 overs, Glenn Maxwell-led KXIP managed to put 170/9 runs on the scoreboard in the 11th match of the IPL 2017.

Yadav returned to the KKR squad after injury and exhibited best of his abilities to bag four big wickets.

Captain Maxwell (25), David Miller (28), wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha (25) and Axar Patel (0) were the victims of the 29-year-old Maharashtra-born bowler.

England fast bowler Chris Woakes struck late to claim two wickets in the shape of Mohit Sharma (10) and Varun Aaron (4) in the last over.

New Zealand all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme, who replaced injured Chris Lynn in the KKR squad, took the scalp of KXIP opener Hashim Amla (25) to mark a good start.

Spinners Sunil Narine and Piyush Chawla dismissed Marcus Stoinis (9) and Manan Vohra (28) respectively to help the pacers.

Click here for more stories related to IPL 2017