Follow Us:

People wanted to see Modi as PM again: New Khajuraho MP VD Sharma

Sharma, the leader from Chambal region but fielded from Bundelkhand area, won by a huge margin of 4,92,382 votes against Congress candidate Maharani Kavita Singh ‘Natiraja’

Satyaprakash Sharma | Gwalior |

The people’s determination to make Narendra Modi Prime Minister again led to his victory in Khajuraho, newly elected MP from the constituency VD Sharma, said on Tuesday. During his first visit to his home town Gwalior after winning the Khajuraho seat on a BJP ticket, Sharma told reporters that the team spirit and hard work of booth-level party workers had got him the mega victory.

Sharma belongs to Chambal region but the BJP fielded him from Khajuraho, which is in Bundelkhand area. He won by a huge margin of 4,92,382 votes against Congress candidate Maharani Kavita Singh ‘Natiraja’. Sharma secured 8,11,135 votes.

Sharma arrived in Gwalior to seek his mother Jodhabai’s blessings at his home in Vinay Nagar area. “The women, men, people of rural and urban areas, youths and farmers, etc., wanted Modi ji to become PM again. This determination of the public has given us the blessings of a grand victory in Khajuraho seat,” he said.

On the Prime Minister’s speech to NDA MPs in the Central hall of Parliament House, Sharma said after listening to the PM’s address he felt the responsibility of ‘Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas’ had increased more.

On Pragya Singh Thakur praising Nathuram Godse, Sharma said she had apologised publicly and the party authorities would take any further decision.

Sharma has been national general secretary of ABVP and national vice-president of Nehru Yuva Kendra. He started his political journey from Gwalior as a student leader. Sharma is known to be close to the RSS which played a crucial role in getting him a ticket for the Khajuraho seat.

On the stability of the state government, he said the Congress had lost the moral right to stay in government in Madhya Pradesh because it had faced defeat in 217 Assembly segments out of the state’s 230 seats in the recently held Lok Sabha elections.