Hours before the code of conduct will come into force with the Election Commission of India (ECI) scheduled to announce the dates of the Lok Sabha elections, Governor Satya Pal Malik ordered the transfer of top IAS officers in Jammu and Kashmir.

Sarita Chauhan, commissioner/secretary of higher education has been shifted to the school education department in place of Ajeet Kumar Sahu. Sahu has been appointed secretary/commissioner, irrigation, public health engineering and flood control relieving Khurshid Ahmad Shah of additional charge.

Pandurang Konbarao Pole, awaiting orders of posting, has been given charge of the department of disaster management, relief and rehabilitation and reconstruction.

M Raju, managing director of J&K projects construction corporation has been given additional charge of excise commissioner. Talat Pervez Rohella, KAS, excise commissioner, has been shifted as secretary, higher education.