After the bifurcation of state of Jammu and Kashmir into Union Territories of Ladakh, and Jammu and Kashmir, which came into effect on Thursday, the name of radio stations in the state have also been changed.

Radio Station of Jammu is now named as All India Radio, Jammu while the radio station in Srinagar and Leh as All India Radio, Srinagar and All India Radio, Leh respectively.

The Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019 was introduced in the Parliament on August 5, and got President’s assent on August 9. It took away the special status given to the state of Jammu and Kashmir through Article 370 of the Constitution.

The Act came into force at 12 am last night ending the special status of the state after 72 years. As per the Act, the President of India will appoint Lieutenant Governor as a administrator of the UTs.

Earlier in the day, President of India Ram Nath Kovind appointed Girish Chandra Murmu as the first LG of Jammu and Kashmir, and Radha Krishna Mathur as the first LG of Ladakh.

Read: Girish Chandra Murmu takes oath as first Lt Governor of Jammu and Kashmir

Jammu and Kashmir has also been in news since the independence of India and splitting of the country into two parts, India and Pakistan.

Kashmir being a subject of tussle between the two countries has always attracted the international attention.
Recently a visit by the EU delegation to the state has also triggered a controversy.