A Hindi monthly magazine is all set to felicitate its writers for their contribution in the Hindi language. Teesta Himalaya, on friday said it will organise its annual Amravati Surujan Puruskar (ASP) 2017, and also give away the Amravati Rahubir Samajhik Sankritik Unayan Samman at Rishi Bhawan in Siliguri on 25 February.

The programme is organised every year to felicitate luminaries, artists, writers and social workers, it is learnt. “The ASP will be given away to two writers this year for their contribution to the Hindi language,” Dr Rajendra Prasad Singh, the editor of Teesta Himalya, said.

“A writer from Muradabad in Uttar Pradesh Dr Mulchand Gautam, and writer from Siliguri, Dr Bhikhi Prasad Birendra will receive the awards this year,” he added. Similarly, the Amravati Rahubir Samajhik Sankritik Unayan Samman will be given away to two social workers of Siliguri, according to Dr Singh.

“Pradeep Bansal and Gangadhar Nagpuriya will be awarded for their social contribution to Siliguri as the duo had protested against the opening of dance bars in Siliguri,” he said. The programme will also witness the launch of Teesta Himalya’s 91st issue and a book titled ‘Dr Bhikhi Prasad Birendra motivation on Literature’ written by Devnath Shukla.

Siliguri mayor Asok Bhattacharya is scheduled to be the chief guest at the function, while former information and broadcasting minter of Sikkim CB Karki, former Bihar MLA Ramshrai Singh and Dr Manish Jha will be the guests of honour, according to Dr Singh.