ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 final at Lord’s is being played between New Zealand and England. Kiwi captain Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bat first in a high-pressure match. However, Kane Williamson had to come in early as they lost opener Martin Guptill early.

As soon as Kane Williamson scored his first run of the day, he became the captain with most runs in a single edition of the World Cup. Kane scored 30 runs in the final before getting out caught behind. Williamson has scored 578 runs in the tournament.

Mahela Jayawardene’s record

Before Williamson, the record for most runs by a captain in a single edition of a World Cup was held by Sri Lankan cricketer Mahela Jayawardene.

Mahela was the leader of the Sri Lankan team in 2007 and scored 548 runs in 11 innings. However, he failed to lead his team to a title win.

Ricky Ponting had a good run with the bat as well

One of Australia’s most successful captains, Ricky Ponting also had a phenomenal run in 2007 World Cup as he went on to score 539 runs. He also led his team to the World Cup title.

In the rain-affected 2007 World Cup final, Australia batted first to score 281 runs. In response, Sri Lanka could only manage 215 runs.

Australia registered a win by 53 runs (DLS method).

Aaron Finch’s form in 2019

Although Kangaroo captain Finch could not lead his team into the finals, he was in a good nick with the bat.

Finch scored 507 runs in this edition of the World Cup.

AB de Villiers in 2015

Often known as Mr 360, AB de Villers scored 482 runs in 2015 but could not fulfil his dream of a World Cup win.

World Cup 2015’s semifinal exit played a major part in AB announcing retirement from international cricket when he was arguably at the peak of his abilities.