Completing a hattrick of victories, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar is all set for his third consecutive term in office as the Grand Alliance registered a convincing win in the Bihar assembly polls on Sunday.

Of the 243 assembly seats, the Grand Alliance of Nitish Kumar&’s Janata Dal-United (JD-U) and its allies Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the Congress defied early trends, and were leading in 155 constituencies at noon.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) combine began on a firm footing as the earlier trends trickled in.

However, two hours into vote counting, the saffron juggernaut came to a steady halt and by noon was leading on just 76 of the 243 seats.

As celebrations began in the Grand Alliance camp, Nitish Kumar, fondly called ‘Sushasan Babu’ for the development work he has done in the state, took to twitter to thank his supporters and voters of Bihar.

“I thank the people of Bihar for their overwhelming support & blessings for the Mahagathbandhan (Grand Alliance),” he wrote on the micro-blogging site.

JD-U state president Bashistha Narain Singh told that the people of Bihar had rejected the BJP model.

“The people of the state have reposed their faith in Nitish and this shows that they have rejected the BJP model. The elections were fought on the works which our government did in last 10 years in Bihar,” Singh added.

Read more:

Modi must take blame for Bihar defeat: Shiv Sena

Lalu makes emphatic comeback, to be kingmaker in Bihar

BJP concedes defeat in Bihar