Election Commission(EC)

Campaigning ends for 5th phase of Bengal polls

A total of 1.13 crore voters are eligible to cast their votes to decide the fate of 342 candidates, including Siliguri Mayor and Left Front leader Ashok Bhattacharya, state minister Bratya Basu and BJP's Samik Bhattacharya.

Poll panel rejects TMC charge

The EC, responding to a memorandum submitted by the Trinamul Congress holding it culpable for the alleged attack on Mamata Banerjee in Nandigram yesterday, said the memorandum is full of "insinuations and averments that question the very basis of creation and functioning of election commission."

Remove Dy EC Sudeep Jain: TMC writes to EC

In the letter, O’Brien has written that Jain be removed for his action during the Lok Sabha polls in 2019, which were “completely biased, partisan, reeked of partiality and tainted”.