IPL 2017: Delhi Daredevils dominate table-toppers Mumbai Indians - The Statesman

IPL 2017: Delhi Daredevils dominate table-toppers Mumbai Indians

DD player Chris Morris (L) celebrates with Pat Cummins (C) after the wicket of MI batsman Nitish Rana (Photo: AFP)

Zaheer Khan led Delhi Daredevils' bowling unit impressed again in the IPL 2017 as they dominated table-toppers Mumbai Indians on their home ground and restricted them to 142/8 in their innings at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Saturday.

After winning the toss, Delhi decided to bowl first and kept Mumbai under control throughout 20 over of cricket.

Experienced leg-spinner Amit Mishra and young pacer Pat Cummins gained maximum in the bowling assault as both the bowlers claimed two wickets each.


Mishra took the scalp of MI skipper Rohit Sharma (5) and pinch-hitter Krunal Pandya (17), while Nitish Rana (8) and Kieron Pollard (26) were the victims of Cummins.

South African pacer Kagiso Rabada, who played his fist game for Delhi, claimed the wicket of opener Parthiv Patel (8) and impressed with the run out of Harbhajan Singh (2), where he defeated the Indian in a sprint.

For Mumbai, Jos Buttler scored highest 28 runs as the table-toppers lost four of their batsmen for a single-digit score.