A committee comprising of leaders of both Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) and Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) will be set up to formulate a common minimum programme for the coalition, Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar said on Tuesday.

The common minimum programme was in the limelight right after the election results were declared in the state as the JJP with 10 seats was pressing on the point that it will support the party which will agree with its terms to implement the common minimum programme in the state.

Khattar further said that the Haryana Cabinet will be expanded after the special session of the state assembly, likely next week.

Khattar is in the national capital after taking oath as the Chief Minister of Haryana, called on President Ram Nath Kovind, Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu and BJP’s general secretary (organisation) BL Santhosh.

“The Cabinet will be expanded after the special session of the state legislative assembly. A committee will also be formed comprising leaders of both BJP and JJP to formulate a common minimum programme for the government,” Mr Khattar said after meeting the Vice President in Delhi.

After a full day suspense on the day of election results, the self proclaimed king-maker JJP chief Dushyant Chautala with its 10 seats extended support to BJP in the state.

On Sunday, Manohar Lal Khattar took oath as the Haryana CM for the second consecutive term. JJP chief Dushyant Chautala, who is also the great grandson of former Deputy Prime Minister late Devi Lal, also took oath as the Deputy CM of the state.

Dushyant Chautala, who is also in the national capital, said both parties will work together for the welfare of the state and will take decisions collectively.

Manohar Lal Khattar also invited Vice President to inaugurate the International Gita Mahotsav to be held in Haryana from November 22 to December 10.

In the 90-member Haryana Assembly, the BJP fell short of six seats from the magic figure to form the government in the state. It sealed a deal with JJP to form a coalition government.