Follow Us:

The Statesman Vintage & Classic Car Rally 2017 A Great Hit

Aakash Srivastava & Abhinav Singh | New Delhi |

The proud owners of the classic and vintage car beauties were buoyed when they got felicitated at the prize distribution ceremony of the 51st The Statesman Vintage & Classic Car Rally at the National Stadium. The Commissioner of Delhi Police, Amulya Kumar Patnaik, graced the occasion as chief guest and also took time to distribute prizes to the winners under various categories.

The Statesman Challenge Trophy for the oldest vehicle to complete the road section of the rally, under its own steam was bagged by Wolseley 1920 owned by Rita Bhatnagar. The Indian Oil Trophy for the oldest vehicle went to Director, Rail National Museum for John Morris 1914. CR Irani Memorial Trophy for the "Queen of the Rally" for the most outstanding vintage cars judged on the basis of authenticity, maintenance, restoration and elegance was bagged by Ms Roshni Sanah Jaiswal for Rolls Royce 1937.

About 50 awards were bestowed under four sections, like Vintage sections in which cars upto 31st December 1939 were eligible entrants while in Classic section cars above 1500 CC and manufactured between 1945-62 were eligible. Whereas the other cars found place under Post-war section and Others section.

The Blue Star Trophy was bagged by Ashish Jain who owns 1933 model Rolls Royce. This trophy is given to the most elegant British car which completes the course. The turn-out of the car,driver,passengers and loading of car were the parameters taken into consideration. The Dhawan performance trophy for the most enthusiastic new entrant entering the rally for the first time went to Dr Shahamat Hussain, who owned Fiat Tipo 514, 1932 Model.

While in the Post War section the HMCI Trophy for the most authentically restored car manufactured in USA went to Hitesh Arora, who owned 1959 Chevrolet. The Syna Vinatge collections trophy for the most outstanding outstation entry was bagged by 1962 Mercedes Benz owned by Mr. Gurangand Singh Manco.

While in Classic section, eight prizes were distributed. Malibu Towne Trophy for the most elegant and most maintained classic car of the period 1940-56 participated for the first time went to Cadillac 1949 owned by HW Bhatnagar. Whereas, Titus & Co. trophy for the best maintained classic car manufactured in USA of the period 1942-56 went to 1947 Buick owned by Diljeet Titus. Also Diljeet Titus bagged most number of trophies in various categories.

Awards were also given in Others category in which 21 Guns & Salute Trophy was awarded to 1942 Model of Ford Jeep belonging to Birds Group for being highly commendable military vehicle.And also,PP Singh of Balrampur Trophy awarded to the car with the best performance in the road section went to 1951 Model of Morris owned by Gagan Gupta.