In a major turnaround, Congress has convincingly won the Mandalgarh Assembly seat after initially trailing at the second spot in Rajasthan bye-elections. Vivek Dhakar of the Congress, reportedly, won the seat by 11,136 votes.

The party is also headed for massive victories in Ajmer and Alwar Lok Sabha seats. Congress candidates led from the beginning in both the Lok Sabha seats.

Even as the vote count continued, Karan Singh Yadav of the Congress had secured 245,774 votes in Alwar against Jaswant Singh Yadav’s (BJP) 192,924 votes.

Raghu Sharma of the Congress had 154,336 votes in his kitty against the 128,291 bagged by the BJP’s Ram Swaroop Lamba in Ajmer.

A total of 42 candidates were in the fray in the three seats, all of which were held by the BJP.

The elections were necessitated by the deaths of Sanwarlal Jat (Ajmer), Mahant Chand Nath Yogi (Alwar) and Kirti Kumari (Mandalgarh).

With Assembly elections scheduled later this year in Rajasthan, party leader and former Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot said the results were a precursor to the 2019 general elections.

“This by-election is a vote against BJP’s divisive politics,” Gehlot told reporters.

He took a dig at the BJP government in the state, saying apart from changing the names of Congress-era schemes, Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje had done nothing in the past four years.


(With IANS inputs)