Follow Us:

Northeast Elections: BJP takes lead in Nagaland, ruling NPF close second

SNS | New Delhi |

The opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ally Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) have taken a lead in Nagaland by 18 seats. The ruling Naga People’s Front (NPF) was second with a lead on 14 seats.

The early trends are for 35 of the 59 constituencies which went to polls for the Nagaland Asssembly.

Some of the key constituencies in which Chief Minister TR Zeliang-led NPF is ahead on include Chozuba, Longkhim chare, Noklak, Thonoknyu, Tuensang sadar-i and Tuensang sadar-ii seats.

The BJP, which is expecting to win the state, is leading in major seats such as Ghaspani-i and Dimapur-i among others. Its ally NDPP is leading in Kohima town while the Congress is leading in just one seat – Ghaspani-ii.

Union Minister of State, Home Affairs, Kiren Rijiju expressed his confidence of forming a government in Nagaland. He said that even some of those who are not part of the alliance have positive words for the BJP.

It is interesting to note that the BJP-NDPP alliance had won just one seat in 2013.

Voting for the 59 seats in the 60-member Assembly was held on 27 February as NDPP chief Neiphiu Rio was elected uncontested from Northern Angami II seat.