Follow Us:

MNF crushes Cong, set to win Mizoram; 5-time CM Lal Thanhawla loses both seats

The 76-year-old Congress leader has been ruling the state since December 2008.

SNS | New Delhi |

The Mizo National Front (MNF) is all set to capture power in Mizoram after a decade, having established leads in 21 of the 40 assembly constituencies, while the ruling Congress is ahead only in places, poll officials said here on Tuesday.

Mizoram is the last bastion of the Congress in the northeast that comprises eight states, including Sikkim.

The ruling Congress is leading in only five constituencies and trailing in almost all the other constituencies, which it had won in the 2013 polls.

Counting is underway on all seats.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is heading ahead in one constituency.

Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla, who contested from two constituencies — his home turf Serchhip and Champhai South lost in both the seats.

Thanhawla was defeated by TJ Lalnuntluanga of the MNF by 856 votes from Champhai South seat, whereas, Serchhip was snatched by Zoram People’s Movement’s (ZPM) chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma.

The 76-year-old Congress leader has been ruling the state since December 2008. In the 2013 assembly elections, he became the chief minister for the fifth time, a record in Mizoram.

Dr F Lalnunmawia of the MNF defeated the Agriculture minister K S Thanga by a margin of 2,037 votes in Aizawl South-III seat.

Former assembly speaker Lalchamliana of the MNF defeated the lone woman MLA, Cooperation Minister Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu, in Hrangturzo seat, while Lalrinawma of the MNF retained the Tuikum seat by defeating Sangzela Tlau of the ruling Congress.

Dr K Beichhua and Lalruatkima of the MNF also retained their seats, Siaha and Aizawl West-II, respectively.

Former home minister Tawnluia of MNF won from Tuichang seat defeating his nearest ZPM rival W Chhuanawma by 701 votes.

Finance Minister Lalsawta is trailing in the prestigious Aizawl East-II behind the MNF nominee Robert Romawia Royte.

The BJP candidate and former minister Dr Buddha Dhan Chakma is leading by over 1,000 votes against MNF nominee R M Chakma in Tuichawng seat in south Mizoram’s Lawngtlai district.

The Congress had captured 34 seats in 2013 assembly poll hile the MNF bagged 5.

The MNF had lost power in the state in 2008.

(With agency inputs)