Following the crackdown on illegal meat shops in Yogi Adityanath’s Uttar Pradesh, now five other BJP-ruled states have banned illegal sale of meat.

The five BJP-ruled states – Jharkhand, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand and Madhya Pradesh have ordered the closure of illegal meat shops and slaugherhouses.

Jharkhand on Monday ordered ban on illegal slaughterhouses. The ban spread to the other BJP-ruled states on Tuesday —  to Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand and Madhya Pradesh.

Around 11 meat shops were sealed in Chhattisgarh’s Raipur, while three were shut down in Uttarakhand’s Haridwar and one in Madhya Pradesh’s Indore.

Around 4,000 illegal shops in Jaipur faced closure since April after the civic corporation announced crackdown on illegal slaughterhouses and meat-selling shops.

However, the meat sellers claimed that out of 4,000 shops – 950 were authorised and the corporation did not renew their licenses after March 31 last year.

Meat sellers in some parts of Uttar Pradesh are continuing an indefinite strike since Monday to protest against their CM Adityanath’s ban on illegal meat shops and slaughterhouses.

Meanwhile, Shiv Sena on Tuesday marched across the streets and forced meat sellers in Gurugram’s Haryana to shut down their shops for Navratri – the nine-day Hindu festival when devotees only eat vegetarian food and on all Tuesdays.