Follow Us:

BRS forms Andhra Pradesh unit with local leaders

Ironically, eight years ago, the unified state was bifurcated after a long struggle against the Seemandhra leaders led by K Chandrasekhar Rao and TRS.

Statesman News Service | Hyderabad |

Several leaders from Andhra Pradesh joined the Bharat Rashtra Samithi at Telangana Bhavan on Tuesday, eight years after the bifurcation of the unified state which came after a long struggle against the Seemandhra leaders ironically led by K Chandrasekhar Rao and TRS.

Dr. Thota Chandrasekhar, who was the general secretary of Pawan Kalyan’s Jana Sena, joined the BRS along with former minister Ravela Kishore Babu who was in BJP and a former IRS official Ch Partha Sarathi. Another leader from Anantapur, TJ Prakash, had been with Chiranjeevi’s Praja Rajyam Party. Ravela Kishore Babu has been a regular party hopper who jumped from TDP to Jana Sena and then to BJP before making it to BRS. Rao announced that Dr. Thota Chandrasekhar will be the president of AP unit of the BRS. He claimed that several sitting legislators were also keen to join the party.

Rao, however, made it clear that the BRS was meant for the country, and not limited to a region. “BRS is for India. BRS exist not for a group, caste or religion. Elections come and go. What is needed is not temporary political benefits but genuine democracy,” he said.

He went on to promise farmers that if voted to power, within two years the BRS will give free power at the cost of Rs 1.45 lakh crore per year. Power will be supplied 24 hours across the country. The BRS will also implement the Dalit Bandhu Scheme.

Meanwhile, old videos of Rao viciously attacking Seemandhra leaders and people surfaced on social media after word spread that the Andhra leaders were joining the BRS unit in AP.