A Special National Investigation Agency court in Patna sentenced all five convicts to life imprisonment in the 2013 Bodh Gaya serial blasts case.

Pronouncing the quantum of punishment on 1 June, NIA special judge Manoj Kumar Sinha also imposed a fine of Rs 10,000 fine on each of the convicts.

On 7 July 2013, nine serial bomb blasts had ripped through the Buddhist pilgrim town of Bodh Gaya. Five people, including two monks, were injured in the attack.

On 25 May, the court convicted Imtiyaz Ansari, Haider Ali, Mujib Ullah, Omair Siddiqui and Azharuddin Qureishi under various sections of the Indian Penal Code, Unlawful Activity (Prevention) Act and the Explosives Act.

Taufique Ahmed, the sixth accused in the case, was a juvenile then. He was earlier sentenced to three years of confinement to a remand home.