Lok Sabha elections 2019 Phase 2 Live Updates: In the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2019, as many as 95 constituencies in 12 states and Union Territories of India are going to polls on Thursday, April 18.

The 95 constituencies include 38 of the 39 seats in Tamil Nadu. On 16 April, President Ram Nath Kovind Election on the recommendation of the Election Commission cancelled the election in Vellore Lok Sabha seat after huge amounts of cash were recovered from the premises of DMK leader Kathir Anand, the son of DMK treasurer Durai Murugan.

READ | Vellore Lok Sabha election cancelled after cash seizure

Polling will also be held in 5 seats each in Assam, Bihar and Odisha, 3 seats each in Chhattisgarh and West Bengal, 2 seats in Jammu-Kashmir, 1 seat each in Manipur and Puducherry, 8 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 10 seats in Maharashtra, and 14 seats in Karnataka.

The Tripura (East) seat  was also scheduled to go to polls today, but the EC on Wednesday postponed the election to April 23 over law and order concerns.

As many as 1629 candidates are in the fray.

Among the key contestants in the second phase are former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda and his grandsons in Karnataka, besides BJP’s new firebrand leader Tejasvi Surya (Bangalore South) and Congress stalwart M Veerappa Moily (Chikkaballapur).

In Tamil Nadu, the DMK-Congress alliance are up against the ruling AIADMK-BJP alliance. Among the main contenders are P Chidambaram’s son Karti, DMK’s K Kanimozhi and Dayanidhi Maran, and BJP state president Tamilisai Soundararajan.

READ | April 18 polls: List of states and constituencies voting in second phase

Stay tuned with thestatesman.com for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 2 latest updates.