Follow Us:

Six Haryana rural clusters to have urban like infrastructure 

Statesman News Service | Chandigarh |

Six clusters of Haryana have been selected under phase-I of Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission (SPMRM) which aims to provides urban amenities in rural area.

These clusters include Kosli of Rewari, Badli of Jhajjar, Barara of Ambala, Samin of Fatehabad, Uchana Khurd of Jind and Balla of Karnal.

An official spokesperson said that the selected clusters from the state would be strengthened under the SPMRM by providing economic, social and infrastructure amenities.

An estimated Rs 100 crore would be the size of the plan to be extended through convergence with existing state and central schemes.

As per the official information, the first instalment of Rs nine crore per cluster has been released against Rs 30 crore of Critical Gap Funding.

The spokesperson further stated that Integrated Cluster Action Plan has been formulated after conducting a detailed study of areas through professional agencies. The plan for each cluster seeks to cover infrastructure development such as sanitation, 24×7 piped water supply, inter-village road connectivity, and community assets.

It also focuses on development of skills and health infrastructure, he added.

Under phase-II, two clusters namely Sewah of Panipat and Rampur Seori of Panchkula have been sanctioned, he added.

The SPMR Mission strives to strengthen rural areas by providing economic, social and infrastructure amenities, thus leading to sustainable and balanced regional development in the country.

The scheme was launched by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi on February 21, 2016 from Chhattisgarh with an aim to create 300 rural growth clusters across the country.

In the first phase, 100 clusters will be taken up, thereafter more clusters will be identified based on the progress of the scheme.