Follow Us:

Shurhozelie Liezietsu sworn in as Nagaland chief minister

SNS | New Delhi |

Naga People's Front (NPF) leader Shurhozelie Liezietsu was sworn in as the 17th chief minister of Nagaland on Wednesday.

Liezietsu 81, along with  11 ministers, was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor PB Acharya at the Raj Bhavan in Kohima. He was elected as the new chief minister after TR Zeliang resigned on February 19 following massive protests over reservation for women in local body elections.

Liezietsu has been elected to the Nagaland Assembly eight times from Northern Angami assembly constituency. He did not contest election in 2013.

The ministers inducted on Wednesday were Kiyanilie Peseyie, Yanthungo Patton, P Longon, C Kipili Sangtam, C L John, Yitachu, Paiwang Konyak, Vikheho Swu, Chotisuh Sazo, Imkong L Imchen and G Kaito Aye.

Nagaland was in turmoil after the NPF-led government, last month, decided to hold local body elections in 12 towns across the state.

For more than two weeks, the government machinery in Nagaland has been in a state of limbo following an indefinite shutdown. Three persons were killed following clashes between police and civilians.

(With inputs from Agencies)